Sexual Blackmail & Congress

Standard

I came of age during the Sexual Revolution and before AIDS.

We had garden-variety STDs but this was the age of disco, the age of the Pill and even the sponge. It was okay to come home with something that could be treated with an antibiotic, but not to come home pregnant. I didn’t have the time or the money – especially the money – to get pregnant.

So I was a frequent customer to the little Planned Parenthood clinic because there was no way I could afford a fancy gynecologist. The exams and the prescriptions were like gold. I think I may have visited Planned Parenthood more than I stopped in at the college library.

And now, many members of Congress are using the selectively edited video of Planned Parenthood executives as a rallying cry to defund the organization. Many of these members have never have resigned themselves to the fact that abortion is legal. They may even shut down the federal government this week to prove their point.

But this isn’t a blog about abortion.

This is a blog about the health of a young person, a person who didn’t have loving parents to fall back on if she got in a jam. A young person who is not me, but who could have been.

This is a blog about the 400,000 Pap tests and 500,000 breast exams conducted every year to prevent cancer.

It’s about the 4.5 million tests and treatments for sexually transmitted diseases, many far more deadly than the garden variety from my youth.

It’s not a blog about abortion, because only 3% of all the stuff Planned Parenthood does is abortions.

It’s not a blog about the 3%. It’s a blog about the 80% who receive services to prevent unintended pregnancies. That’s about 516,000 pregnancies a year. That’s 516,000 times no one even had to discuss whether to have an abortion.

And that’s why Planned Parenthood shouldn’t be part of this Congressional blackmail.

blackmail

3 thoughts on “Sexual Blackmail & Congress

  1. Okay, I just can’t stay silent with this one. My ears hurt from this age old and reasoning. Planned Parenthood claims that 78% of the people they serve are under the government’s current criteria for poverty. Currently, 41% of their budget comes from Federal Funds. In the meantime, the combined salaries of its CEOs was $11,536,408 in 2013. There are currently over 13,000 agencies in this country that provide the same services as they do. The other side simply wants to re-route this funding to agencies dealing with women’s health that aren’t constantly under a cloud of questioning. With Obamacare, most birth control is free, as are mammograms etc. You love Planned Parenthood? Start donating to them…start a drive. Not everyone who opposes this government funding does so because of their abortion services. I happen to be pro-choice. But their services are redundant to institutions who have not ruptured public trust and whose upper echelon do not profit unduly. Seems to me that the people shouting loudest about income equality (generally the same folks who clamor over defunding Planned Parenthood) completely ignore this particular fact. Just sayin’

  2. mitternight

    Jacquie — I do donate to Planned Parenthood and, when I was young, they were the only game in town. I don’t have a problem with salaries for nonprofit execs…as a previous one myself, I know that the argument that well-qualified people should somehow work for good causes and not be compensated the going rate is one that leads to not-so-well qualified execs. But…I am vain enough to consider it a compliment to myself that I have a friend who can argue so passionately and beautifully against me!

Leave a Reply

